Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) is the UK’s equivalent of the Police Clearance Certificate (PCC) obtained in other countries including India. The DBS came into existence in the UK in 2012. The DBS is a non-departmental public body under the UK home office formed by merging the functions of the Criminal Records Bureau (CRB) and the Independent Safeguarding Authority (ISA) under the Protection of Freedoms Act of 2012. Anyone working in the health care sector should receive DBS clearance before the commencement of the job and all the application processes will be completed as part of your recruitment.

There are various levels of DBS checks:    

  • Basic DBS checks;
  • Standard DBS checks;
  • Enhanced DBS checks;
  • Enhanced DBS checks with a check of the barred list;

However, in general, and particularly for the nurses “Basic DBS check” is sufficient. It takes about 2 weeks to receive the DBS certificate. 

Police Clearance Certificate and DBS
Police Clearance Certificate (PCC) should be obtained and submitted by every individual who is planning to obtain a Tier 2 General visa to the UK from the country of residence. If an individual has resided on a work visa or a dependent visa or a student visa in any foreign country for a period of/exceeding 12 months, then the individual should obtain a Police Clearance Certificate from that country and submit along with the documentation. 

If the individual has resided for 12 months or more in the UK, then the individual must apply and submit a DBS which is the equivalent certificate of the PCC.

1 Comment

Subashini · May 5, 2022 at 9:59 am

I lived in the UK from 05/07/2010 to 26/08/2012
Now I am going to uk again via tier 2 visa.Kindly tell me whether I need to apply for DBS check in uk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »